Index Refresh Page

Holiday USA 2010

Show all days on one page (a long download!)
Day 1:Houston without a problem   (Thursday 22nd July 2010)
Day 2 :The Vecks have landed...    (Friday 23rd July 2010 )
Day 3 : Ferry across the watery stuff

Saturday 24th July 2010

Today was a day of travel, we left Houston bright & early. Our route took us along the coast roads, Flat dead straight roads with houses supported on stilts or built with garages below. Then our first encounter with a ferry, four rows of vehicles queued for 40 minutes and were loaded for a journey roughly equivalent to a trip to the Isle of Wight, however you don't normally see dolphins skipping the waves in the solent.

Texas gave way to Louisiana & the flat swampy vista continued , we travelled on a second ferry ( or Fairy as Ian pronounces it ) roughly the same distance as the Hayling ferry. We passed many beaches sporting an assortment of sea defences, bearing witness to the periodic flooding in the area.
We took a detour to a beach recommended by Ians new friend, The lady at the Morgan City tourist information office. On the way dear Maureen directed us down some unpaved roads towards some seaside shacks where we were literally chased off by a big black dog, ( I swear its still down stairs circling our car, teeth bared, fangs dripping )
The " beach " turned out to be a strip of sand a couple of feet wide, followed by an equal sized strip of compost, the bugs were out in force & within a minute I was sporting some spectacular mozzie bites. We abandoned this plan & settled for returning to our latest hotel.. Ian is knackered from his day driving & after a quick scout round Morgan City ( not likely to be winning any prizes for picturesqueness..is that a word?? ), its off to bed for us, Goodnight dear reader xx


Day 4 :Cajan Jack's Swamp and beyond..    (Sunday 25th July 2010 )
Day 5 :Po Boy, On Bourbon Street.    (Monday 26th July 2010 )
Day 6 :As far south as you can get in Louisiana and no sign of oil!    (Tuesday 27th July 2010 )
Day 7 :1 year of wedded bliss, well neither of us has committed murder!.........yet    (Wednesday 28th July 2010 )
Day 8 :Magic Macys amazing Breakfast & tour.    (Thursday 29th July 2010 )
Day 9 :The Vecks have left the building..Uhh Huu !    (Friday 30th July 2010 )
Day 10 :Ian breaks another car on the way to The Grand Ole Opry!    (Saturday 31st July 2010 )
Day 11 :Centre Stage at the Checkout..    (Sunday 1st August 2010 )
Day 12 :Its a country life at Thrifts Ferry.    (Monday 2nd August 2010 )
Day 13 :Ian's stairway to Tallulah's Falls.    (Tuesday 3rd August 2010 )
Day 14 :DELIVERENCE..Wildwater on the Chattooga.    (Wednesday 4th August 2010 )
Day 15 :Up Sh**t Creek, we forgot a paddle.    (Thursday 5th August 2010 )
Day 16 :Choo choo, Train & Rail adventure    (Friday 6th August 2010 )
Day 17 :Dollywood or bust!    (Saturday 7th August 2010 )
Day 18 :Cave bears...Ugg    (Sunday 8th August 2010 )
Day 19 :Ribs 'n Bibs    (Monday 9th August 2010 )
Day 20 :Goodbye from the windy city..    (Tuesday 10th August 2010 )

Index Refresh Page